This blog covers events at the Chess Mates Chess Club,
which is now located at 75 East Cherry Street, Suite 11 in Rahway, N.J.

For more information, please visit
our web site, email us, or call us at 760-583-8429

Monday, August 30, 2010

Simul Reminder

Just a reminder... GM Leonid Yudasin will be giving a simul tonight from 6:30-8 p.m. The event is free for members, $15 for non-members. Of course, the public is welcome to come and watch.

Norowitz Wins Sunday Swiss

SM Yaacov Norowitz won yesterday's G/45 with a 4.5/5 tally. IM Justin Sarkar was 2nd. Mauricio Camejo took 3rd. There were 9 players.

Sunday, August 29, 2010

Druha Karunakaran Wins U1600

Druha Karunakaran from Connecticut won Chess Mates' first U1600 tournament on Tuesday 8/24. His brother Aman was 2nd. Joe Renna won the U1400 prize. Wayne Burnett and Arthur Curry also took part.

Blitz Results

Monday Blitz

SM Yaacov Norowitz won the 9-player RR with a 8-0 score. GM Leonid Yudasin was 2nd. NM Maraj Daftani earned the U2200 prize. U2000 honors went to Mauricio Camejo. Alex Schwartzberg (U1300) also picked-up a prize.

Thursday Blitz

Norowitz, Yudasin & Daftani (the U2100 prize-winner) finished 1-2-3 again. Kola Adeyemi collected the U1900 prize.

Monday, August 23, 2010

Trio Tie In Sunday G/45

GM Michael Rohde, IM Jay Bonin and SM Yaacov Norowitz tied for 1st place in yesterday's G/45 Swiss.

Expert Kavinayan Sivakumar was the U2200 winner. Serge Adelson and Edwin Cadorniga shared the U2000 spoils.

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Blitz Results

Monday Blitz

GM Leonid Yudasin won. NM Maraj Daftani finished 2nd. Mauricio Camejo and Adeyemi Kola split the U2100 prize.

Thursday Blitz

GM Yudasin took 1st again. NM Maraj Daftani & Sameer Mujumdar shared the 2nd place & U2200 prizes.

Monday, August 16, 2010

4-Way Tie in Sunday Swiss

GM Michael Rohde, GM Leonid Yudasin, IM Jay Bonin and SM Yaacov Norowitz tied for 1st place in yesterday's G/45 Swiss.

NM Arthur Macaspac pocketed the U2200 prize while Edwin Cadorniga collected the U2000 award.

The 11 player field, we're sorry to report, featured just 4 New Jerseyans.

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Play In 10 Tourneys, Get 1 Free Entry

Beginning August 12th (this past Thursday), individuals who play in 10 Chess Mates' tournaments will get a 1 free entry. Regular & Blitz tourneys will be tallied separately. Events that took place from June 19-August 11 will not be counted nor will free entries earned in our upcoming Scholastic Quads.

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Yudasin Simul On August 30

On Monday, August 30, GM Leonid Yudasin will be giving another Simultaneous Exhibition at Chess Mates.

The event, which will begin at 6:30 p.m., is free for our members and $15 for all other participants.

Blitz Results

Monday Blitz

GM Leonid Yudasin won with 5-0. NM Arthur Macaspac finished 2nd. Kola Adeyemi took the U1900 prize.

Thursday Blitz

GM Yudasin swept again. SM Yaacov Norowitz was 2nd. Mauricio Camejo collected the U2100 prize.

3rd Summer Camp Added

Chess Mates will be holding another children's chess camp from August 30th thru September 3rd.

For rates, schedule and other information, please visit our Summer Camps page.

Monday, August 9, 2010

Rohde Wins G/45

GM Michael Rohde won yesterday's G/45 Swiss with a perfect 5-0 score. Rahul Swaminathan was 2nd. Kavinayan Sivakumar & Arthur Macaspac tied for 3rd. Roger Pederson and unrated Kevin Orcutt shared the U2000 prize.

Sunday, August 8, 2010

Blitz Results

2nd Chance Blitz

GM Leonid Yudasin won the 4-player double round-robin with a 5-1 score. SM Yaacov Norowitz was next at 4-1.

Monday Blitz

GM Yudasin won the 3-player double RR with a 4-0 score. Roger Pederson earned the 2nd prize.

Thursday Blitz

GM Yudasin completed his hat-trick by taking the 4-player double round-robin with a 6-0 Score. NM Maraj Daftani was the runner-up.

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Sarkar Wins Sunday Swiss

IM Justin Sarkar won today's upset-filled G/45 with a score of 4.5/5. FM Victor Shen was 2nd. GM Leonid Yudasin finished 3rd.

Lev Zilbermints & Kavinayan Sivakumar split the U2200 prize. Edwin Cadorniga earned the U2000 award. Praveen Balaskrihnan landed the U1800 laurels and Anthony Cadorniga collected the U1600 honors.

There were 9 titled players in the field of 18, which had an average rating of 2127.67!