This blog covers events at the Chess Mates Chess Club,
which is now located at 75 East Cherry Street, Suite 11 in Rahway, N.J.

For more information, please visit
our web site, email us, or call us at 760-583-8429

Saturday, October 27, 2012

5-Way In Rahway Open I

IM Ilye Figler, FM Rodion Rubenchik, FM Boris Privman, NM Praveen Balakrishnan and NM Sam Barsky tied for 1st at today's Rahway Open.

Jennifer Acon won the U2000 prize while Chris Farmer earned U1700 honors. Michael O'Connor's 3rd round win over Rishi Rajendran was the biggest upset.

There were 17 participants.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Adelson Wins October G/90

Serge Adelson won the G/90 for October, which wrapped up about an hour ago. NM Arthur Macaspac and Raja Ghosh tied for 2nd, with Raja getting the U2000 prize.

Lou Sturniolo, Claude Rainford and Leonardo Moreira shared U1800 honors. Lou also scored the biggest upset, by beating Michael O'Connor tonight. 

4th round results:

Norris 0-1 Adelson
Ghosh 1-0 Rainford
O'Connor 0-1 Sturniolo
L. Moreira 1-0 G. Moreira
Calandri 0-1 Warrick
Macaspac: 1/2 point bye

Final Standings:

1. Adelson 3.5
= 2-3. Macaspac, Ghosh 3.0
4. Norris 2.5
= 5-7. Sturniolo, L. Moreira, Rainford 2.0
= 8-9. O'Connor, Warrick 1.5
10. G. Moreira 1.0
11. Calandri 0.5

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Macaspac Wins Machan Grand Prix V

NM Arthur Macaspac won yesterday's Dr. Luvizminda Machan Grand Prix V with a perfect 4-0 score.

FM Rodion Rubenchik finished 2nd, NM Sam Barsky took 3rd and FM Boris Privman was 4th.

Jennifer Acon was the U2000 prize-winner. Bill Bluestone captured the U1425 and Biggest Upset awards.

October G/90 - Rounds 2 and 3

Serge Adelson, Arthur Macaspac and Tony Norris lead our October G/90 with 1 round to play. Raja Ghosh and Claude Rainford trail by a half-point.

Round 1 addendum

Norris 1/2 point bye (late-joined)

Round 2 (Oct. 10)

Macaspac 1-0 G. Moreira
L. Moreira 0-1 Adelson
O'Connor 0-1 Norris
Warrick 0-1 Sturniolo
Ghosh 1-0 Calandri
Rainford: 1 point bye 

Round 3 (Oct. 17)

Adelson 1/2-1/2 Macaspac
Sturniolo 0-1 Norris
G. Moreira 0-1 Ghosh
Rainford 1-0 L. Moreira
Warrick 0-1 O'Connor
Calandri: 1/2 point bye

Extra game: Nathan Napper 1-0 Jennifer Acon

Standings after round 3 of 4:

= 1-3. Adelson, Macaspac, Norris 2.5
= 4-5. Ghosh, Rainford 2.0
6. O'Connor 1.5
= 7-9. Sturniolo, G. Moreira, L. Moreira 1.0
= 10-11. Warrick, Calandri 0.5

Pairings for Round 4 (Oct. 24)

Norris - Adelson
Ghosh - Rainford
O'Connor - Sturniolo
L. Moreira - G. Moreira
Calandri - Warrick
Macaspac : 1/2 point bye

Post revised 10/21 @ 4:36 p.m.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Barsky Wins G/40

LM Sam Barsky won yesterday's G/45 G/40. Jonathan Aisoni was the U1850 prize winner.

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Sunday Results

Here is a round-up of Sunday's results:

Sergio Flores won the Morning Quad.

Fermin Arias and Thomas Elberling tied for 1st in the Afternoon Quads' top section while Karandeep Singh swept the lower section.

In the evening blitz tourney, Arthur Macaspac and Errol Singh were winners.

Sunday, October 7, 2012

October G/90 - Round 1

Wednesday G/90
October 3, 10, 17, 24

1st Round

Lou Sturniolo 0-1 Arthur Macaspac
Serge Adelson 1-0 Raja Ghosh
Gabriel Calandri 0-1 Leonardo Moreira
Gabriel Moreira 1-0 Claude Rainford

Michael O'Connor and Ralph Warrick received half-point byes.

Standings after round 1 of 4:

= 1-4. Macaspac, Adelson, G. Moreira, L. Moreira 1.0
= 5-6. O'Connor, Warrick 0.5
= 7-10. Sturniolo, Ghosh, Rainford, Calandri 0.0

2nd Round Pairings:

Macaspac - G. Moreira
L. Moreira - Adelson
Warrick - O'Connor
Ghosh - Sturniolo
Rainford - Calandri

Late-joiners are welcome.

Saturday G/45 Results

NM Arthur Macaspac and expert Brandon Nydick won the top section of yesterday's G/45.

Jennifer Acon and Michael O'Connor tied for 1st in section 2.

Sunday Quad Results (9/30)

Lev Zilbermintz was the top section winner of our G/30 on September 30.

Juan Jimenez and Kesava Dhanasekaran tied for 1st in the lower section.

Macaspac & Aisoni G/45 Winners (9/29)

NM Arthur Macaspac and Jonathan Aisoni were section winners in the G/45 held on September 29th.

Arthur won the 10-player top section while Jonathan swept his quad.